Fairfield Athletics Announces 2017 Hall of Fame Class
 All Stories

Fairfield Athletics Announces 2017 Hall of Fame Class

Fairfield Athletics has announced the six former student-athletes that will be inducted into the Fairfield University Athletics Hall of Fame on May 8 at Brooklawn Country Club. The ceremony is a part of the 2017 Fairfield Athletics Hall of Fame Golf Outing.

JulieAnne Forman Dietz ’02 (women’s soccer), Drew Henderson ’93 (men’s basketball), Cristian Jung ’99 (baseball), C.J. Kemp ’03 (men’s lacrosse), Tim O’Toole ’86 (men’s basketball – Professional Achievement Award) and Kevin Ryan ’97 (ice hockey – posthumous induction) comprise the Hall of Fame Class of 2017.

The 2001 MAAC Player of the Year, JulieAnne Forman Dietz ranks among the all-time leaders in points (79), goals (26) and assists (27) for the Stags’ women’s soccer program. One of seven three-time First Team All-MAAC honorees in Fairfield history, she was also an All-Northeast Second Team selection in 2001 in addition to her MAAC laurels. Forman was a key member of the Stags’ 1998 and 1999 MAAC Championship and NCAA Tournament squads.

Drew Henderson is the only player in Fairfield men’s basketball history to eclipse 1,000 rebounds, hauling in a program-record 1,080 boards for the Stags from 1989 to 1993. Henderson also netted 1,050 points in a career – the 24th Stag to reach the milestone and now one of 42 1,000-point scorers in Fairfield history. He earned All-MAAC and All-Met honors as both a junior and a senior, highlighted by First Team All-MAAC laurels as a junior following the 1991-92 campaign in which he averaged 14.9 points and 11.4 rebounds per game.

One of the most consistent hitters in Fairfield history, Cristian Jung ranks among the top 10 for the Stags in career hits (174), doubles (38) and runs scored (136). His 66 hits as a junior in 1998 were a program record at the time and still slot at fifth in Fairfield history. Jung’s .418 batting average in that campaign is the second-best single-season mark for a Stag. He was an All-MAAC honoree in that season and followed up with a .331 campaign in 1999 to cap his career with a second All-MAAC distinction.

C.J. Kemp was a USILA All-America Honorable Mention in 2002, also collecting Great Western Lacrosse League Player of the Year and First Team All-GWLL laurels in that campaign. Kemp helped guide the Stags to their first-ever NCAA postseason appearance in 2002 as Fairfield went 4-1 in the GWLL to claim the league’s automatic bid. He was selected as team captain as a senior in 2003, earning Second Team All-GWLL honors in the cage. Kemp ranks second all-time at Fairfield with 606 career saves.

Tim O’Toole was a member of two MAAC Championship teams, a two-time team captain and the recipient of the Jerome J. Lademan Award and Patrick Burke Memorial Award during his time as a student-athlete with the Fairfield men’s basketball program. A former head coach of the Stags who has more recently been on the bench at Syracuse, Stanford and Cal, O’Toole will receive the Fairfield Athletics Hall of Fame Professional Achievement Award.

The late Kevin Ryan was one of the top defensemen in the history of Fairfield ice hockey. He was a two-time First Team All-ECAC South selection and a two-time team captain for the Stags. A prolific scorer for his position, Ryan ranks first or second all-time at Fairfield in goals, assists and total points by a defenseman. He passed away from a brain tumor in April of 2004 after a two-year fight.

The 2017 Fairfield Athletics Hall of Fame Golf Outing is scheduled for Monday, May 8, at Brooklawn Country Club in Fairfield. Proceeds from the event will benefit renovations to the Academic Center in the Walsh Athletic Center, a headquarters for academic support for all of Fairfield’s 450 varsity student-athletes.

Register for the 2017 Fairfield Athletics Hall of Fame Golf Outing

In addition to individual registration for a day of golf and the Hall of Fame dinner, foursome packages and sponsorship opportunities are also available.

 All Stories

Last modified: Fri, 03 Mar 2017 09:21:02 EST

Story Archive