2016 Student Achievement Award Winners Announced
 All Stories

2016 Student Achievement Award Winners Announced

On April 19, six Fairfield University undergraduates will be recognized for their leadership and outstanding achievements at the Student Achievement Awards. The recognition ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. in the Aloysius P. Kelley, S.J. Center Presentation Room.

Jacqueline Acquino ‘16 will receive the prestigious St. Ignatius Loyola Medal for “exemplifying the true spirit of a Jesuit education” through her high academic standards and substantial involvement in community service. Among her many accomplishments, Acquino, a double major in mathematics and music, is a Magis Scholar, a member of Alpha Sigma Nu and Pi Mu Epsilon, president of the Math Club, musical director of Sweet Harmony, Service for Justice alumni mentor and Orientation Support Team member.

The William J. Kramer ’60 Humanitarian Award will be awarded to Claretta Mills ‘16 for her “commitment to volunteerism and service to an external community activity that best exemplifies the Ignatian tradition of being men and women for and with others.” As a student at Fairfield, Mills participated in and led volunteer trips in Costa Rica, Ecuador and Jamaica. Mills is also heavily involved in the Racial Justice is Social Justice movement and has been a Cura Personalis Mentor for the past three years.

Four students will receive the Student Achievement Award for their dedication and enhancement of a University program. Blanca Aca-Tecuanhuehue ’16 won for her commitment to women in science. Throughout her time at Fairfield, Tecuanhuehue volunteered at local middle and high schools helping educate girls about STEM. Additionally, she a Magis Scholar, president of the Society for Women Engineers, a member of Alpha Sigma Nu, Tau Beta Phi and Pi Mu Epsilon, a recipient of the Christopher B. Love Student Achievement Award and President of the National Society for Collegiate Scholars.

Erin Connors ’16 will receive the Student Achievement Award for her commitment to Fairfield University athletics. Connors is the captain of the field hockey team as well as a Tour Ambassador, Senior Admission Fellow, co-chair for publicity and chair for social media for Relay for Life and co-president of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee.

Daniel Horstmann ’16 will receive recognition for his commitment to music ministry and the Praise Project. Horstmann is the founder of the Praise Project, a musical group that performs at Mass. He is a Magis Scholar, director and founder of Music Ministry, concert manager for The Glee Club, member of the Honors Program and composer of Mass for the Journey © 2013.

Allison Scheetz ‘16 will be presented a Student Achievement Award for her commitment to welcoming and on-boarding new students. As an International Student Ambassador, Scheetz engages and supports the international student population on campus. She is the co-chair for New Student Programs, a New Student Leader, Tour Ambassador, Model UN vice president, a recipient of the Christopher B. Love Student Achievement award, Relay for Life committee chair and a Safe Space Ally. 

For more information, please visit the Student Achievement Awards website or contact Rita Sherwood at rsherwood@fairfield.edu or 203-254-4211.

 All Stories

Last modified: Fri, 01 Apr 2016 09:00:04 EDT

Story Archive